13.3 C
Monday, July 15, 2024

Moray Young Musician Winner 2024 Announced

- Advertisement -

Eight talented local secondary school musicians wowed an audience at Elgin Academy with a feast of musical styles as they competed in the final of the Moray Young Musicians competition on Tuesday 19 March.

The finalists, who had all previously won the first round of competitions at their Associated School Group (ASG) level, competed to become the regions entry into the Scottish Young Musician – Solo Performer of the Year.

Tomek Meszka, a trumpet player from Elgin High School, was announced as the winner by the adjudicators, Norman Bolton, Highlife Highland’s Music Development Officer and Karen Berry, retired Principal Teacher of Music at Lossiemouth High School.

In May, Tomek will represent Moray at the Scottish Young Musicians Solo Performer of the Year final at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland in Glasgow.

Brass Instructor, Alasdair Grant, said:

“As Tomek’s trumpet teacher I’m immensely proud of his achievement in the Moray Young Musicians competition.

“Tomek is a very conscientious pupil and I’m delighted all his hard work and determination has culminated in winning this competition.

“Congratulations, Tomek.”

Runner-up awards were presented to Lauren Caldwell, a bagpiper from Lossiemouth High School and pianist Andrew Raffan, a pupil at Buckie Community High School

Also taking part as regional finalists were: Dearbhla McIntyre (piano), Elgin Academy; Imogen Symon (cornet), Forres Academy; Phoebe George (piano), Keith Grammar School; Chloe Campbell (fiddle), Milne’s High School; and Chloe Burr (cello), Speyside High School.

Eight primary school musicians who had competed in their final prior to the night were also in attendance to receive their awards.

Jayden Chen, a violinist from Bishopmill Primary School was awarded the Primary School Young Musician winner.

Runner-up awards in the Primary School competition were presented to Hanalei Whittle (piano) Hopeman Primary School and Oscar Korfker (cornet) Mosstowie Primary School.

The winners of their ASG and also taking part in the Primary School Young Musician final were: Benjamin Allan, Andersons Primary School; Daniel Malachy Carden, Mosstodloch Primary School; Lena Ruth Stephen, Rothiemay Primary School; Evan McFall, Tomintoul Primary School; and Emily Wright, Cluny Primary School. 

Moray Council’s Chief Education Officer, Vivienne Cross, was at the Moray Young Musicians final and said:

“The high standard of playing truly shows the amount of dedication and work the musicians have put into honing their craft.

“Events such as this showcase the unbelievable talent we have in Moray and all the finalists should be incredibly proud of themselves.”

The competition was organised by Moray Council’s Music Instruction and Performance team in partnership with the MEPG Scottish Young Musicians.  

Moray Council’s Music Instruction and Performance team also run the Moray Music Centre which takes place on Saturday mornings from August through to March.

Principal Teacher of Music Instruction and Performance in Moray, Alexander Davidson, says the Moray Music Centre is a great opportunity for school aged musicians to participate in a regional ensemble:

“Most of the young musician finalists have previously come through the Moray Music Centre, taking part in the bands or orchestras.

“The Moray Music Centre allows young musicians to not only develop their musical skills but develop their confidence as a performer.”

More information on the Moray Music Centre can be found here

Registration for 2024/25 will open in May.

- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img