11.2 C
Friday, May 24, 2024

Quarantine Rules Change for Five Countries

- Advertisement -

Passengers from Belgium, Andorra and the Bahamas will be required to self-isolate at home or another specified address for 14 days on arrival in Scotland from Saturday, following a significant increase in the number of cases of coronavirus (COVID-19) in those countries.

The decision has also been made by the devolved administrations in Northern Ireland and Wales as well as the UK Government – with agreement by the four nations also to add two countries, Brunei and Malaysia, to the list of destinations where travellers are exempt from the requirement to quarantine.

The regulations requiring passengers arriving from Belgium, Andorra and the Bahamas to quarantine will come into effect in Scotland from Saturday 8 August.

The change exempting those arriving from Brunei and Malaysia from quarantine requirements will come into effect from 4 am on Tuesday 11 August.

Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf said:

“The governments of all four nations have agreed to these changes based on a shared understanding of the data. 

“This is another important step in our efforts to prevent the spread of the virus and adhering to the quarantine is a vital aspect of this.

“Imposing quarantine requirements on those arriving from another country is not a decision made lightly – but suppressing the virus and protecting public health remains our priority.”

- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img