5.7 C
Wednesday, March 22, 2023

New Members of The Scottish Youth Parliament Elected for Highland

Must read

Pictured: Mollie McGoran.

The Scottish Youth Parliament has welcomed six new Highland members following its elections.

Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYP) are elected every two years and become the voice of Scotland’s young people.

The new MSYPs for the three constituency areas in Highland are:

Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch: Aimee Ross, from Fortrose; and Rory Young, from Lochaber High School.

Inverness and Nairn: Hamish Nott, from Inverness Millburn; Mollie McGoran, currently studying in Dundee.

Caithness Sutherland and Ross: Dougal Masterson and Ewan Johnstone, both from Ullapool High School.

The elections took place between November 8 and 21 and were open to vote for people aged between 12 and 25.

MSYPs range in age from 14 to 25 and represent constituencies in all 32 local authorities throughout the country.

The youth parliament was established on June 30, 1999 – making it older than the Scottish Parliament.

HLH Senior Youth Development Officer Audrey Anthoney said:

“The new members will now be engaging in Scottish Youth Parliament campaigns and participating in the SYP sittings which take place three times each year.

“They will also work closely with their local youth forums and groups and the Highland Youth Parliament and Highland Youth Convener, ensuring young people’s views across the Highland area are voiced and represented at a national level.”

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article