1.7 C
Thursday, November 30, 2023

Primary Pupils Battle it Out at The Parliament for Quiz Final

- Advertisement -

Primary 6 pupils from 29 schools all over Scotland will be welcomed to the Scottish Parliament next week to test their European knowledge as Euroquiz returns.  

Over 400 schools have been involved in competing in this year’s quiz.

Following a series of heats that took place earlier this year, the winning schools will now compete in the final which will take place in the Scottish Parliaments’ Debating Chamber on Monday 13 June. 

Euroquiz, which was first held in 1993, sees teams of pupils working together to broaden their knowledge of European history, geography, sport, culture, languages and the European Union. 

Deputy Presiding Officer and Euroquiz quizmaster Annabelle Ewing MSP said: 

“I’m delighted to be welcoming young people back to the Parliament for this event, which helps young people to learn more about our European neighbours in a fun and engaging way.  

 “I’m sure the pupils from all over Scotland have been studying very hard for this final and will be determined to take home the trophy. 

“The Euroquiz heats involved more than 2,000 pupils and over 400 schools so it’s great to see the enthusiasm for this competition and I congratulate each and every one of them for reaching the final.” 

The 29 primary schools taking part in Euroquiz 2022 are: 

  • Aberdeen City: St. Peter’s Primary School
  • Aberdeenshire: Kemnay Primary School  
  • Angus: Monikie Primary School  
  • Argyll & Bute: Rhu Primary School  
  • Dumfries & Galloway: Troqueer Primary School  
  • Dundee: Forthill Primary School  
  • East Ayrshire: Crosshouse Primary School  
  • East Dunbartonshire: Millersneuk Primary School  
  • East Lothian: Gullane Primary School  
  • East Renfrewshire: Busby Primary School  
  • Edinburgh: George Watson’s College  
  • Falkirk: St Andrew’s RC Primary School  
  • Fife: Dalgety Bay Primary School 
  • Glasgow: Corpus Christi Primary School 
  • Highland: Rosehall Primary School  
  • Inverclyde: Kilmacolm Primary School  
  • Midlothian: Loanhead Primary School  
  • Moray: Greenwards Primary School  
  • North Lanarkshire: St David’s Primary School  
  • Orkney Island: Dounby Community School  
  • Perth and Kinross: St Dominic’s RC Primary School  
  • Renfrewshire: Kilbarchan Primary School  
  • Scottish Borders: Melrose Primary School  
  • Shetland: Whiteness Primary School 
  • South Ayrshire: St John’s Primary School (Ayr) 
  • South Lanarkshire: St Leonard’s Primary School  
  • Stirling: Strathblane Primary School  
  • West Dunbartonshire: St Mary’s Primary School  
  • West Lothian: Saint Joseph’s Primary School  
- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img