5.7 C
Friday, April 19, 2024

Scotland U17 Squad Announced

- Advertisement -

The Camanachd Association is pleased to announce the Scotland Under 17 squad for the Tour of Ireland in July.

The annual tour, which has been taking place for over twenty years, sees the country’s elite shinty players play shinty/hurling challenge matches against their Irish counterparts.

This year’s tour will be sponsored by RICruden, an established Mechanical and Renewable business who uphold an exceptional reputation for high quality installations and are based in the Highlands of Scotland.

Callum Cruden, Director of RICruden, said:

“We’re delighted to support shinty and the Camanachd Association’s commitment to developing the sport at grassroots level.

“This collaboration embodies a shared vision of empowering young people and a commitment to the local community which is reflected in RI Cruden’s award winning renewable energy apprenticeship programme.

“I am proud to be partnering with the under 17’s team and honoured to be able to give back after my own experiences and fond memories of trips to Ireland with the Scotland team for various youth and senior teams.

“We look forward to supporting the squad as they set their sights on achieving great things this July.”

Kirsty Deans, Camanachd Association Youth Director, said:

“The Scotland Shinty U17 Squad is a testament to the future of our sport.

“These young players have shown remarkable potential and skill, and it’s incredible to see such dedication to shinty in our youth.

“We are excited to see what they bring to the field both this year and in the years to come after benefiting from this developmental experience.”

National Development Manager Ronald Ross commented:

“The selection process was highly competitive, and we are confident that our U17 squad has what it takes to compete with their Irish counterparts.

“We have every confidence in their ability to have a successful tour.”

This year’s squad is:

Arron Jack                          Kingussie

Charlie MacRae                   Beauly

Cameron Stephen               Fort William

Lennox Stewart                  Beauly

Matthew Sloss                    Oban Camanachd

Rory Slaughter                   Kinlochshiel

Louie MacFarlane                Oban Camanachd

Callum MacIver                  Beauly

Archie Millar                       Skye

Archie MacRae                    Kinlochshiel

Torrin Cairns                       Beauly

Euan Dingwall                     Newtonmore

Rory McDonald                    Bute

Finlay Maclennan                 Beauly

Iain Hunter                         Inverness

Thomas MacKinnon             Beauly

The squad travels across to Dublin on Sunday 23rd July, and returns on Wednesday 26th July.

- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img