3.1 C
Friday, December 9, 2022

Moray Young Citizen Awards 2021 Winners Announced

Must read

Moray’s young citizens have been celebrated in a virtual awards ceremony hosted by Moray Council.

The Moray Young Citizen Awards recognise achievements made in and out of the classroom and are awarded annually, although they were unable to take place last year due to the covid-19 pandemic.

Supported by Moray Council, Diageo, Police Scotland and Elgin Rotary Club, the award winners were announced via a virtual ceremony premiered online on Friday 12 November.

Interspersed with musical entertainment from Moray’s talented young musicians, the awards showcased the community-spirited young people and all they’ve done for their local area, with a particular focus on the pandemic.

Moray Council’s Head of Education, Vivienne Cross, said the stories behind the finalists were “inspirational”.

“As always, the judging panel had a tough job reading through all the deserving and inspirational nominations to pick our finalists.

“The high quality of nominations showed just how much effort our young people have put in to keeping their communities going, particularly throughout the covid-19 pandemic.

“I’m extremely proud of all children and young people across Moray for their commitment and dedication to their schools and communities during a time of great uncertainty for us all.

“All the finalists have shown great resilience and are to be congratulated for their efforts, and the joint winners of Moray’s Young Citizen of the Year 2021 have my admiration and respect for all they’ve contributed to their communities.”

Awards are given to achievements including fundraising and awareness raising for charities; community and school participation; voluntary work; ambassadorial roles and other extra-curricular activities.

Moray Young Citizen of the Year

Winner: Cassie Findlay, Keith Grammar School and Dodie Simmers, Keith Grammar School

Highly Commended: Katie Dunbar, Keith Grammar School and Brodie Bain, Speyside High School

Commended: Harvey McCook, Elgin Academy; Lukas Borzoni, Milne’s High School; Megan McKay, Milne’s High School; Morgana Campbell, Lossiemouth High School; Tiegan Miller, Forres Academy; Blair Jackson, Elgin Academy; Lola-J Toogood, Portessie Primary School; Lucy Mark, Keith Grammar School

Primary School Award

Winner: Findochty Primary School

Highly Commended: Dallas Primary School

Secondary School Award

Winner: S6 Leadership Team, Elgin High School

Highly Commended: S6 House Captains, Forres Academy

Commended: Wellbeing Hub, Buckie High School

Global Citizenship Award

Winner: Findochty Primary School

Community Award

Winner: Findochty Primary School

Highly Commended: KEON Pipers

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article