12.2 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Vote for Your Favourite Finalist in The People’s Choice Award!

- Advertisement -

Run annually by the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO), the Scottish Charity Awards celebrate the best of Scotland’s voluntary sector.

This year’s shortlist includes 39 individuals and organisations from charities and voluntary groups across the country.

While a judging panel will determine the winners under ten distinct categories, members of the public can have their say by voting for their favourite overall entry in the People’s Choice Award – by visiting scvo.scot/vote – before 5pm on Friday 24 May 2024.

Winners will be announced on 20 June 2024 in a celebratory awards ceremony hosted by broadcaster Sally Magnusson at the Raddison Blu in Glasgow.

Anna Fowlie, Chief Executive, SCVO said:

“We’re very excited to bring you the 2024 Scottish Charity Awards.

“It’s been another record-breaking year with nearly 500 entries, so arriving at the 39 finalists has been really difficult. 

“The finalists demonstrate just how essential the voluntary sector is to Scottish society, with dedicated organisations and individuals going above and beyond to make a positive and often life-changing impact in their communities. 

“The public has the chance to celebrate each of our finalists through the People’s Choice vote which is now open, so don’t miss your opportunity to get involved and get behind your favourite by voting!

“I’d like to wish all our finalists the very best of luck and look forward to shining a light on their essential contributions at our awards ceremony in June.”

The full shortlist includes:

Campaign of the year

  • The Yard – Our Kids Won’t Wait
  • Aberlour Children’s Charity – Cancelling School Meal Debt
  • Amina Muslim Women’s Resource Centre – Never Allowed
  • Diabetes Scotland – Diabetes Tech Can’t Wait

Volunteer of the year

  • Mary Osei-Oppong – African and Caribbean Elders in Scotland
  • Mary Hepburn – Fife Rape and Sexual Assault Centre
  • Lauren Boag – Scottish Huntington’s Association
  • David Corstorphine – RNLI

Partnership of the Year

  • SOHTIS (Survivors of Human Trafficking in Scotland) and Simon Community Scotland
  • Edinburgh Tool Library and LGBT Health and Wellbeing
  • Larkhall & District Volunteer Group and Heart of Africa
  • Special Olympics Grampian Area, Special Olympics GB and Inclusive Skating

Employee of the Year

  • Vicki McGrain Rae – Asthma and Allergy Foundation
  • Amanda Fleet – Highlands and Islands Students’ Association
  • Janice Lee – Ardgowan Hospice
  • Kevin Radzynski – Grassmarket Community Project

Community Impact

  • Feeling Strong
  • National Ugly Mugs (NUM)
  • Fersands and Fountain SCIO
  • Creatovators CIC

Climate Impact

  • The Volunteer Tutors Organisation
  • Forth Rivers Trust
  • R:evolve Recycle

Trustee of the Year

  • Ken Brown – Bridge Community Project
  • Michael Craig – Sight Scotland and Sight Scotland Veterans
  • Jen Hardy – Cancer Card
  • Michelle Robertson – Fallin Community Voice

Digital Difference

  • Lead Scotland
  • The Why Not? Trust
  • Perth Theatre and Concert Hall
  • Strathearn Arts

Charity of the Year – turnover under £500k

  • Dates-n-Mates
  • Equi-Power Central Scotland RDA
  • Fischy Music
  • Playlist for Life

Charity of the Year – turnover over £500k

  • Edinburgh Women’s Aid
  • Fife Young Carers
  • Simba
  • St Vincent’s Hospice
- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img